In a resounding triumph, The Last Dinner Party, the London-based indie-rock/pop sensation featuring Abigail Morris, Lizzie Mayland, Emily Roberts, Georgia Davies, and Aurora Nishevci, has been declared the winner of BBC Radio 1’s prestigious Sound of 2024. A distinguished panel, comprising over 140 industry experts and artists such as Olivia Rodrigo, Declan McKenna, Chase & Status, Mahalia, and more, participated in the selection process.

The past year proved monumental for the quintet, marked by their debut at Glastonbury, a maiden North American tour, the release of their inaugural track ‘Nothing Matters,’ and the announcement of a headline performance at London’s Roundhouse. Along the way, The Last Dinner Party secured endorsements from Radio 1 stalwarts Greg James and Jack Saunders, in addition to recording a session for Radio 1’s Future Artists. With their eagerly awaited debut album, ‘Prelude to Ecstasy,’ scheduled for release in February, the band is poised for a stellar 2024.

The Last Dinner Party say: “We are overjoyed to have won BBC Radio 1’s Sound Of Award for 2024! We predict amazing things happening in music this year and it is truly an honour to even be a part of it. BBC Radio has championed us and so many other young artists from the start of their careers, we still can’t believe it every time we hear one of our songs being played. Every artist who has been nominated or won over the years is such a powerhouse, it humbles us to join their ranks! Thank you to guitar music for never dying. Bands are back, baby.”

Jack Saunders says: “It is a really strong year for the Sound Of list, which should make this win for The Last Dinner Party even sweeter. There isn’t a band connecting with their audience like this band right now: great songs, image and drive. They have the perfect concoction for success.”

The top five acts for Sound of 2024 are:

  1. The Last Dinner Party
  2. Olivia Dean
  3. Peggy Gou
  4. Tyla
  5. Elmiene

Also on the longlist for Sound of 2024 (in alphabetical order):

  • Ayra Starr
  • Caity Baser
  • CMAT
  • Kenya Grace
  • Sekou

BBC Radio 1 is set to host a special event – BBC Radio 1 Sound of 2024 Live – at Maida Vale on Monday 8 January, featuring performances from artists on the longlist.

The Sound of… initiative, which commenced in 2003, has seen illustrious winners over the years, including 50 Cent, Adele, and HAIM. Last year, FLO clinched the top spot, prevailing over a formidable longlist featuring the likes of Fred again.., Nia Archives, and Cat Burns. Notable Sound of… alumni encompass Stormzy, Adele, Lady Gaga, Dizzee Rascal, The Weeknd, Dua Lipa, Billie Eilish, and Lewis Capaldi.