The extensive lineup for BBC Radio 1’s Sound of 2024 has been unveiled, highlighting ten emerging artists poised for success in the upcoming year.

A panel comprising over 140 industry experts and artists, including Olivia Rodrigo, Declan McKenna, Chase & Status, Mahalia, and others, meticulously selected this year’s longlist.

The listed acts, presented in alphabetical order, are:

  1. Ayra Starr
  2. Caity Baser
  3. CMAT
  4. Elmiene
  5. Kenya Grace
  6. The Last Dinner Party
  7. Olivia Dean
  8. Peggy Gou
  9. Sekou
  10. Tyla

In the previous year, the girl group FLO clinched the title, triumphing over a formidable longlist that featured renowned names such as Fred again.., Asake, Dylan, and Cat Burns. Noteworthy artists who have graced the list in previous years include Stormzy, Adele, Lady Gaga, Dizzee Rascal, The Weeknd, Dua Lipa, Billie Eilish, and Lewis Capaldi.

The countdown of the Top 5 will commence across Radio 1 on Monday, 1 January 2024, with the ultimate winner to be unveiled on Friday, 5 January 2024, on Radio 1.

Additionally, Radio 1 will host a special event, BBC Radio 1 Sound of 2024 Live, scheduled for Monday, 8 January at Maida Vale, featuring performances by artists from the longlist. Ticket applications are currently open on the BBC Shows and Tours website.

Jack Saunders expresses, “The Sound Of list continues to showcase a diverse array of music’s most promising artists to watch over the next 12 months. All ten names are poised to make an impact in 2024, and I’m eagerly anticipating celebrating that in the coming weeks with interviews and live performances.”

Chris Price, Head of Music for Radio 1, notes, “With many female artists on the Sound Of list this year, I’m truly optimistic about the next generation of festival headliners. The list remains as diverse as ever, reflecting the genre-agnostic nature of BBC Radio 1, which has supported each act on the longlist. 2024 promises to be an outstanding year for new music!”

The compilation of the list involved recommendations from 149 influential music experts, encompassing artists, DJs, radio and TV producers, journalists, streaming experts, and festival bookers. They were asked to nominate their top three new acts, irrespective of country or musical genre, as long as they had not been the lead artist on a UK number 1 or number 2 album or more than two UK top ten singles before 12 October 2023. Additionally, the artists must not be widely known by the UK general public or have previously appeared on the Sound Of… list.

Further details about the panel and the list’s compilation process can be found on the BBC Radio 1’s Sound of 2024 website.