In a special awards ceremony, remarkable acts of courage, dedication to public service, and a commitment to ensuring the safety of Leeds communities were acknowledged.

Police officers, staff, volunteers, and members of the public were celebrated at the Leeds District Awards for their exceptional contributions across various incidents, investigations, and community initiatives.

The event, held at Elland Road stadium, the home of Leeds United, last night, witnessed Chief Superintendent Steve Dodds, the Leeds District Commander, being joined by the district’s Senior Leadership Team and distinguished guests. Notable attendees included Assistant Chief Constable for Local Policing & Safeguarding, Damien Miller, senior representatives from partner agencies such as West Yorkshire Police Federation, Leeds City Council, West Yorkshire Fire & Rescue Service, the NHS, Leeds Rhinos Foundation, The British Army, and key community figures.

Financial support for the awards came from the West Yorkshire Group Insurance Trust, administered by the West Yorkshire Police Federation, and Mitie, a facilities management company.

Approximately 120 guests gathered in the Norman Hunter Suite, where members of the West Yorkshire Police Band performed. The ceremony saw the presentation of 21 team and individual awards, each accompanied by the human stories behind the recipients’ actions.

Among those honoured were individuals, both officers and members of the public, whose courageous interventions had saved lives in perilous situations. Recognition was also given to outstanding efforts leading to the apprehension of offenders and the overall safety of communities. The crucial contributions of Special Constables, Police Volunteers, Police Cadets, and Business Support and Secretariat staff to policing were acknowledged.

Special category awards included distinctions such as Police Community Support Officer of the Year, Special Constable of the Year, Team of the Year, Employee of the Year, and the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Chief Superintendent Dodds said: “It makes me genuinely very proud to recognise the incredible acts of bravery, tenacity and dedication to keeping people safe that have been displayed by those presented with awards at last night’s event.

“These are all people who have stepped up when it really counts, many in very challenging and dangerous situations where their actions have literally made the difference between life and death.

“Alongside these heroic stories were many others who have shown continuous commitment to performing their role to the highest standards and providing the best possible service to the public and our communities.

“Those honoured at the event were from across the policing family, including police officers, police staff and members of the public as well as special constables and police volunteers, who selflessly give us their time. It clearly shows how important that collective effort by different individuals is to protecting the public and keeping Leeds safe.

“They are truly amazing people and should be very proud of their achievements which we hope will serve as an inspiration to others.”

District Commander’s Commendations were presented to:

PC George Hitchon, PC Gregg Banfield, PC Ross Boyle and A/PS Suzanne Sykes.

PC Tom Jones and PC Jaime Sanchez.

Police Cadet Mea Jones.

Police Support Volunteer Melanie Jones

Senior Leadership Team Secretary Karen Pearson

Business Support Assistant Tracey Kay

Members of the public Merrick Morrison and Mahboob Hussain.

Members of the public Gary Bankhead and Nicola Welbourn

Special Category Awards:

District Commander’s Commendation – Member of the public Christopher Bruce.

Crime Investigation Award – DC Alan Andrews

Police Mentor of the Year Award – DC Kasie Baines

Outstanding Leadership Award – DS Carol Symon

Police Apprentice of the Year Award – PC Brittany Lowe

Special Constable of the Year Award – Section Officer Steven Houghton

Volunteer of the Year Award – Dr John Kirkby CBE

PCSO of the Year Award – PCSO Christopher Moseley

Members of the Public (Contribution to Community Award) – Mr Harry Turner

Solving Problems with Partners Award – PC Gemma Brown

Team of the Year Award – Leeds District Neighbourhood Impact Team – PS Adam Harper, PC Thomas Robinson, PC Sophie Walker, PC James Cooper, PC James Roose, PC Lindsey Towers, DC Jack Pattison

Employee of the Year – SC Kieran Abbott

Lifetime Achievement Award – DC Darren Young