Film4, in collaboration with The Peggy Ramsay Foundation and the Maria Bjornson Memorial Fund, announces the recipients of the Peggy Ramsay/Film4 Awards, designed to celebrate and nurture emerging British writing talent.

In the 2024 initiative, six bursaries, each valued at £10,000, are being granted to promising theatre writers. The Peggy Ramsay Foundation sponsors four of these bursaries, with one dedicated to the memory of literary agent Tom Erhardt, while Film4 supports the remaining two.

The 2024 bursary recipients are as follows:

  1. BABIRYE BUKILWA (“Cake”) – Clean Break & Soho Theatre
  2. SHAHID IQBAL KHAN (“10 Nights”) – Paines Plough
  3. MARTHA LOADER (“Bindweed”) – New Wolsey Theatre
  4. MAREK HORN (“Octopolis”) – Hampstead Theatre
  5. FLORENCE ESPEUT-NICKLESS (“Destiny”) – Bristol Old Vic
  6. MORNA YOUNG (“Aye, Elvis”) – Traverse Theatre

These accomplished writers will now undertake one-year attachments with their respective venues, providing them with the opportunity to engage with various industry professionals and gain hands-on experience in a working theatre. Over the next 12 months, their primary task is to craft at least one full-length play.

Sir Richard Eyre, Chairman of the Panel comments: “I’ve always thought that giving bursaries to writers for them to be attached for a year to theatres is an inventive act of philanthropy. I’ve been chairing this award since 2009 and I have been repeatedly impressed by the quality of the plays. This year has been no exception. I feel sure that these writers will continue to confirm our faith in their talent”

Neil Adleman, Chair of the Peggy Ramsay Foundation comments: “We are delighted to be able to continue to support this scheme which is unique in providing funds which support both writers and theatres for an extended period.”

Ben Coren, Head of Development at Film4 comments: “Discovering and nurturing new talent is one of our core values at Film4, so we’re very happy to help another round of emerging UK playwrights develop their careers. I’m looking forward to seeing what the winners create in 2024 and beyond.”

Playwrights were nominated by UK theatre practitioners, and the Scheme’s Panel, chaired by Sir Richard Eyre, selected the six winners. The panel for this year also included Jack Bradley (Sonia Friedman Productions), Ben Coren (Film4), Will Mortimer (The Bridge Theatre & The Peggy Ramsay Foundation), Dinah Wood (Faber & Faber), Nicholas Wright (Playwright), and Georgia Gatti (Neal Street Productions). The scheme is administered by Sue Higginson OBE.