In a bid to honour the memory and legacy of the late comedy legend Sean Lock, Channel 4 has unveiled “The Sean Lock Comedy Award,” a prestigious initiative aimed at spotlighting emerging comedic writers and performers who embody the alternative spirit that both Sean and the network are renowned for.

The recipient of this coveted award will be granted a once-in-a-lifetime chance to kickstart their career in TV comedy, supported by a generous package that includes a £5,000 grant to bolster their live work, a prized script commission from Channel 4’s esteemed comedy team, invaluable writer shadowing opportunities on the network’s acclaimed comedy entertainment shows, and an additional £1,000 commission to craft a script for Channel 4’s esteemed digital strand. Moreover, they will receive continuous guidance and mentoring sessions from Channel 4’s esteemed commissioning teams to nurture their talent and potential.

Sean Lock, a true luminary of the entertainment industry, made a profound impact with his incredible talent in stand-up, scripted comedy, and hosting. From his critically acclaimed sitcom “15 Storeys High” to his inimitable presence on “8 Out of 10 Cats Does Countdown,” along with numerous sold-out stand-up tours, Sean always presented life from a fresh, unconventional perspective. His brilliance was widely recognised and celebrated among his peers, and he remains an influential and unique figure in the comedy world. Sean embodied the core essence of Channel 4’s ethos—an alternative voice that offered thought-provoking and accessible content, never delivered in a conventional manner.

As an integral part of this prestigious award, Channel 4 collaborated with several live comedy venues and promoters across the UK to identify and shortlist a select group of standout finalists. Each finalist represents a rising talent on the comedy circuit, poised to take the leap into the broader realm of writing and performing.

The finalists who have been granted the honour of performing live at a special comedy event to celebrate this remarkable award are:

Alex Bertulis-Fernandes
Mamoun Elagab
Kyrah Gray
Kuan-wen Huang
Christopher Macarthur-Boyd
Tadiwa Mahlunge
Mike Rice
Eric Rushton
Lorna Rose Treen
Anna Thomas
Lily Webb

The identity of the ultimate winner of The Sean Lock Comedy Award shall be revealed in the near future, and all the finalists will have the chance to meet with a Channel 4 comedy commissioner for valuable mentoring sessions.

Charlie Perkins, Head of Comedy at Channel 4 said, “Channel 4 are honoured to have collaborated with Sean’s friends and family on our first comedy scheme that melds the genres of scripted, entertainment and digital together. Combining a love for Sean’s polymathy and supporting and nurturing new generations of homegrown comedy talent, we’re proud as hell to be part of this award. Thank you so much to our passionate nomination panel for giving up their time to help stretch our tendrils out across the UK. It’s an incredible shortlist and we can’t wait to see what they all get up to next. To Sean!”

Comedian and Sean’s friend, Bill Bailey, worked closely with Channel 4 to create the award. Bill said, “I am delighted that Channel 4 have created The Sean Lock Comedy Award. It’s a way to honour Sean’s memory and to inspire others to pursue their own unique comic brilliance.”

Damon Pettitt from Off The Kerb and Sean’s former agent said, “I hope the recipient proves to be a worthy winner and shows the same integrity, work ethic and eye for the absurd, in both writing and performance so evident in Sean’s fine body of work.”

With this award, Channel 4 seeks to sustain Sean Lock’s legacy by championing fresh, innovative comedic voices that carry forward his alternative spirit and continue to push the boundaries of comedy in the UK.

The nation eagerly awaits the announcement of the well-deserving recipient, who will undoubtedly play a pivotal role in shaping the future of comedy on Channel 4.