BAFTA and National Comedy Award-winning show Taskmaster is set to make a musical comeback as Channel 4 confirms the return of the six-part sitcom, featuring the talented Alex Horne and his band, The Horne Section. Following the tremendous success of its debut series last year, the critically acclaimed show is now in production for its highly anticipated second season.

Created, written, and starring Alex Horne and The Horne Section, the upcoming season promises even more entertainment with the addition of internationally renowned musician, comedian, writer, and actor Reggie Watts to the cast. Joining them are the highly acclaimed comic Tim Key and the return of special guests, the beloved John Oliver. The returning cast also includes the talented Desiree Burch (Live At The Apollo), Georgia Tennant (Staged), and Camille Ucan (Lee and Dean). Additionally, the second series will feature new faces, including Ronni Ancona (Friday Night Live), Kiell Smith-Bynoe (Ghosts), Stevie Martin (8 Out of 10 Cats Does Countdown), and Anna Crilly (Horrible Histories: The Movie).

Beyond the screen, The Horne Section boasts a highly successful iTunes chart-topping podcast, aptly named The Horne Section Podcast, as well as three series of Alex Horne Presents The Horne Section on BBC Radio 4. The collaboration between Alex Horne and his band began in 2010 when they first shared the stage at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe. Individually, members of The Horne Section have performed alongside renowned recording artists such as Robbie Williams, Madness, Florence and the Machine, Amy Winehouse, George Ezra, Basement Jaxx, Disclosure, and Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds.

Channel 4’s Head of Comedy, Charlie Perkins, and Commissioning Executive, Joe Hullait, commissioned The Horne Section Series 2. The show is produced by Matt Stronge and directed by Barbara Wiltshire. Serving as Executive Producers are Alex Horne, James Taylor, Jon Thoday, and Richard Allen-Turner for Avalon. The talented lineup of The Horne Section includes Alex Horne as the band leader, Joe Auckland on trumpet and banjo, Mark Brown on saxophone and guitar, Will Collier on bass, Ben Reynolds on drums and percussion, and Ed Sheldrake on keyboards.

Fans can look forward to another season filled with music, comedy, and the undeniable chemistry of Alex Horne and The Horne Section. Stay tuned for the premiere of The Horne Section Series 2 on Channel 4.